Page URL:

Ribosome nobel laureate elected to Royal Society presidency

23 March 2015
Appeared in BioNews 795

Professor Sir Venkatraman Ramakrishnan has been confirmed to succeed Sir Paul Nurse as the President Elect of the Royal Society as of December this year.

Professor Ramakrishnan is currently the deputy director of the Medical Research Council (MRC) Laboratory for Molecular Biology in Cambridge, and is a Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge. Professor Ramakrishnan was jointly awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009, alongside two other scientists, for their work on the structure and function of the ribosome at the molecular level.

Speaking to Nature News about his new position, Professor Ramakrishnan said: 'It's a great honour. Paul [Nurse] has been an articulate and forceful advocate for science, and I can only do my best to continue that'.

The Indian-born structural biologist gained his Bachelor's degree in Physics from Baroda University, India before moving to the USA to complete his PhD at Ohio University. He studied biology at several US institutions, and became a biophysicist at the University of Utah, before moving to the UK in 1999. He was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2003.

Professor Ramakrishnan's Nobel work in biophysics elicited information about the structure and function of the ribosome, the cell machinery responsible for the translation of DNA into proteins

Understanding the structure of the ribosome is providing scientists with information to design new antibiotics, a strategy which many national bodies, including the CDC in the USA and the UK Government, have recognised as important action to combat antibiotic resistance. Ribosomes are the target for several antibiotics such as erythromycin, which blocks the channel through which a chain of amino acids are released from the ribosome. This prevents bacteria producing new proteins, stopping growth of the organism and the infection.

The Royal Society was founded in 1660 and acts as scientific advisor to the British Government. Other scientists to have held the President's position include Samuel Pepys, Isaac Newton and Ernest Rutherford.

Biologist Venki Ramakrishnan to lead Royal Society
BBC News |  18 March 2015
Indian-Origin Nobel Laureate To Head Royal Society In UK
The Huffington Post India |  19 March 2015
Ribosome clinches the chemistry Nobel
Nature |  7 October 2009
Sir Venki Ramakrishnan confirmed as President Elect of the Royal Society
The Royal Society |  18 March 2015
Structural biologist named president of UK Royal Society
Nature |  18 March 2015
18 February 2019 - by Dr Barbara Kramarz 
It was early October 2009. 'The prize for chemistry was to be announced on Wednesday. The chemistry prize often alternates between the hard-core chemists and the more biological chemists…
25 November 2013 - by Dr James Heather 
Fred Sanger, renowned biochemist, has died aged 95. Having pioneered seminal techniques for the understanding of both proteins and DNA, Dr Sanger is widely hailed as one of the most influential scientists of recent years...
19 October 2009 - by Ben Jones 
The 2009 Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been awarded to three structural biologists for their work exploring the functioning of ribosomes at the atomic level. The laureates, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Thomas A Steitz and Ada E Yonath, have been recognized for the development and application of a novel X-ray technique known as X-ray crystallography in investigating the atomic level functioning of ribosomes....
to add a Comment.

By posting a comment you agree to abide by the BioNews terms and conditions

Syndicate this story - click here to enquire about using this story.