Subscribe to the BioNews newsletter for free

Advanced Search

Search for

Like the Progress Educational Trust on Facebook



Lasker prize awarded for DNA and cancer discoveries

14 September 2015

By Dr Julia Hill

Appeared in BioNews 819

The 2015 Lasker Awards are being given to three scientists who made ground-breaking discoveries in cancer and genetics, and to the organisation Doctors without Borders for its work on the Ebola crisis.

'This year's Laureates have opened up new frontiers into genetic processes essential to all life; developed novel cancer therapies that unleash the immune system; and worked with great dedication to contain a devastating Ebola epidemic,' said Claire Pomeroy, President of the Lasker Foundation.

'They remind us all that investing in biological sciences and medical research is crucial for our future.'

There are three categories of award: the first, the Basic Medical Research Award is being given to Professor Evelyn Witkin of Rutgers University, and Professor Stephen Elledge of Harvard Medical School for discovering that damaged DNA can self-repair.

Professor Witkin began researching DNA damage caused by ultraviolet light in the 1940s – a decade before the structure of DNA was discovered. She was responsible for proposing the 'SOS hypothesis', that damaged DNA sends out a distress call which triggers a cascade of rescue attempts.

Professor Elledge has been researching the genes and proteins which respond to DNA damage since the 1980s, investigating how they sense damage and attempt to repair it, and their role in cancer.

The second category, the Clinical Medical Research Award is being given to Professor James Allison of the University of Texas, for the discovery of a new cancer treatment called checkpoint blockade therapy.

In the 1990s, Professor Allison developed an antibody which targets the T-cell protein CTLA-4, activating the immune system and using it to attack tumours. Of a group of 5000 people with advanced melanoma who were treated with the antibody, 20 percent were still alive a decade later, in contrast to the usual mortality rate where 50 percent of patients die within a year of diagnosis.

Medecins sans Frontières (Doctors without Borders) is being given the third award, the Bloomberg Public Service Award for its response to the 2014 Ebola outbreak in Africa.

The Lasker Awards are one of the most prestigious awards in medicine, and are often referred to as the 'American Nobels'. Since the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation began giving the awards in 1945, 86 recipients have gone on to receive a Nobel Prize.

The awards, which have a $250 000 (£160,000) honorarium, are to recognise the contributions of scientists and public servants to the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of human disease.

The awards will be presented on 18 September in New York City.


16 November 2015 - by Hannah Somers 
Three geneticists have been awarded $3 million prizes for their contributions to the field of life sciences...
12 October 2015 - by Dr James Heather 
The 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to scientists who discovered the cellular mechanisms for repairing damaged DNA...

13 April 2015 - by Dr Nicoletta Charolidi 
A new type of cancer vaccine that enriches the immune system with tailor-made anti-tumour antibodies has shown early signs of promise...
19 May 2014 - by Antony Blackburn-Starza 
British pharmaceutical company AstraZeneca has presented trial data from an experimental lung cancer drug...
08 November 2010 - by Matthew Smart 
The Lasker Foundation has awarded UK scientist, Professor David Weatherall from Oxford University its prestigious Lasker-Koshland Award for Special Achievement in Medical Science...
06 April 2010 - by Ailsa Stevens 
The results of a huge multinational project to pinpoint all the genes and related proteins essential for cell division are to be made publically available for other researchers to use...

Be the first to have your say.

You need to or  to add comments.

By posting a comment you agree to abide by the BioNews terms and conditions

- click here to enquire about using this story.

Published by the Progress Educational Trust


Public Conference
8 December 2017

Speakers include

Professor Azim Surani

Professor Magdalena Zernicka-Goetz

Professor Robin Lovell-Badge

Sally Cheshire

Professor Guido Pennings

Katherine Littler

Professor Allan Pacey

Dr Sue Avery

Professor Richard Anderson

Dr Elizabeth Garner

Dr Andy Greenfield

Dr Anna Smajdor

Dr Henry Malter

Vivienne Parry

Dr Helen O'Neill

Dr César Palacios-González

Philippa Taylor

Fiona Fox

Sarah Norcross

Sandy Starr


Good Fundraising Code

Become a Friend of PET HERE and give the Progress Educational Trust a regular donation